What Does *This* Belly Button Say??

11Feb09

Belly Button Aki Sinkonnen from the University of Helsinki in Finland has proposed the belly button of a woman is a “sign of vigor” and is used to predict the reproductive abilities of a woman.  Sinkonnen says that this can be judged by the shape, symmetry, and placement of the navel.

Humans are one of the few animals that actually have a visible umbilical scar and with no apparent function. Furthermore, this scar is judged by other humans aesthetically.  Some are beautiful, some not so much… Some are innies and some outties.  What’s your preference? According to other studies most people prefer innies that are not too deep. More precisely, “t-shaped or oval and vertical, with a little hooding, and which don’t portrude”.  Sinkonnen believes that many problems can be visible in the scar tissue left behind to what later becomes the belly button.

So I wonder what my belly button says… Perhaps that this baby-making factory is out of business!  I’d rather just adorn my navel and call it a day.  Actually, some would say that my navel indicates I’m crazy.  They’re probably right.  ;op

You can read the full article here.

4 Responses to “What Does *This* Belly Button Say??”

  1. manatees have a belly button! 🙂 I used to poke fun at my sister for being the only one in the family with an outtie…

  2. 2 extrovertscientist

    Ooh… that’s very interesting. I did not know. What I want to know, though, is why it hurts so much when you press into your belly button. Ha ha… wonder what your sister’s outtie says about her.

  3. This belly button says: This girl has a pain threshold higher than mine. I’m too chicken to get a tattoo. Or a piercing. I still am, it’s hard to believe I gave birth twice!! 🙂

    Did you read the comments following the article. Okay, I could have stood for a little more hard data in there, but everyone seems to have skipped the ‘could be used to detect risk of fetal abnormalities’ part.

  4. 4 extrovertscientist

    Ichthyes… who knows how this guy came up with his hypothesis. I just thought it was an interesting topic to research. I think that predicting fetal abnormalities is probably a bit of a stretch, though, but I wouldn’t be surprised if people use it to subconciously gauge women in the reproductive sense. It’s part of the bigger picture so I don’t think an ugly belly button will doom anyone. Ha ha.


Leave a Reply

