If I Have One Phobia…

07Mar09

My daughter came down with the dreaded “stomach flu” yesterday.  Ugghh… I would not wish that not even on my lab partner that really irritates me. Ha ha.  Anyway, poor thing threw up all night and had stomach cramps.  It’s really horrible to watch a small child deal with profuse vomiting.  Everyone involved is just so helpless. To make matters worse, during dinner last night right before her episode of vomiting,  her brother and I finished her leftovers.  Great. So you know what’s probably in store for me for the next 24-72 hours.

So anyway, I’ve decided to make today’s post a little lesson in virology.  This one goes out to my cool-ass virology professor. ;o)

noroviruskatpally081There are two main types of viruses associated with the stomach flu.  Stomach flu, of course, is a misnomer because it is not an influenza virus at all.  It appears that my daughter has contracted norovirus. This virus comes from the family Caliciviridae and the genus, of course, is Norovirus. It is a single stranded RNA, non-enveloped virus. The incubation period is between 24-48 hours and symptoms are usually sudden and last for one to two days.  These include vomiting, diarrhea, stomach cramps, and possibly mild fever. Transmission is through fecal-oral route, contact with infected items such as utensils or food, or direct person to person spread. It appears that a majority of the outbreaks are spread through contaminated food.  It is believed that infectivity generally lasts three days but may last for up to two weeks.  Immunity is short-lived. The most interesting fact that I learned about this virus is that the CDC has found that resistance to the virus may be genetically determined and those with the blood group O may be most susceptible to severe infection.  Shit.  Guess what my blood type is?  O positive.

rotavirus3Rotavirus is another common cause of the stomach flu. It is a double-stranded, nonenveloped, double-shelled virus. It has a wheel-like appearance, hence the prefix “rota” in its name. It is from the family Reoviridae and the genus Rotovirus. Those infected experience similar symptoms as the norovirus but they tend to last longer – three to eight days. Symptoms are usually worse in children. Adults may become infected but often are asymptomatic or only experience mild symptoms due to partial immunity from previous infections. An FDA-approved vaccine, RotaTeq, is on the market for rotavirus.

With both viruses, medical intervention is usually unnecessary as the viruses are not serious (although it feels that way when you’re hurling into the toilet!).  The main complication of these illnesses is dehydration, which tend to occur in those who cannot care for themselves such as small children and the elderly. Handwashing and disinfection using a bleach-based product or a disinfectant such as Lysol is essential in order to prevent further transmission.  Also be aware that hand sanitizers are not effective agents in destroying these viruses.

Well, let’s see what the next two days have in store for me.  I’ll keep my fingers crossed and hope that all of you may dodge this awful illness as well!

3 Responses to “If I Have One Phobia…”

  1. 1 katie

    Oh man, I had the norovirus a couple of years ago and I have never been so sick in my life. It was 100 times worse even than the time I had food poisoning. I vomited and shat for pretty much eight hours straight. I hope your little girl is feeling better today and recovers quickly!

    • 2 extrovertscientist

      Thanks for your good wishes Katie. Yes, I dreaded the virus since the time I got it when I was 8 months pregnant. Talk about agony, as if being 8 months pregnant wasn’t enough! Thankfully, my daughter was fully recovered within less than 24 hours. It was fast and furious. I don’t know how, but her brother and I managed to dodge it, too. That’s luck (and a whole lotta Lysol!)

  2. Ugh, I got the stomach flu over new years. It was a bad few days. Good luck and Good Health!


Leave a Reply

