How to Trim Asparagus

09Mar09

Tomorrow night I plan on making a nice dinner, nothing microwaveable for once!  I have a little time on my hands and generally don’t devote a whole lot of effort to preparing fancy meals.  I stick to quick and nutritious.  Anyway, I’ll be making some baked salmon (one of my faves!) with couscous and asparagus.  I like asparagus but wasn’t sure what the best way was to prepare it without it being too tough or chewy.  I’m going to grill it with some olive oil, garlic, and balsamic vinegar.  That seems to be a popular choice. I fancy I’ll even enjoy a nice glass of Pinot Noir and pretend to be sophisticated. I really don’t know shit about wine but I heard that it pairs well with salmon.  At least that’s what the internet says!

I realized, though, that I wasn’t sure of the best technique to trim the asparagus.  I don’t want to be chewing the stock like a cow chewing cud. I found a rather informative video on You Tube.  Gotta love the internet!  Here it is:

7 Responses to “How to Trim Asparagus”

  1. 1 katie

    Wow, that seems like kind of a pain in the ass… I use the “bend the stem until it breaks” method. The asparagus will naturally break at a point above the woody stem. This does make for a little more waste probably than the cutting method but it’s super quick and actually kind of fun. And since I only buy asparagus in season and on sale… it’s not too bad.

    I did plant some asparagus a couple of summers ago but it didn’t take too well and I still haven’t been able to eat any.

    • 2 extrovertscientist

      Well, that’s one way to get it done! Yeah, I tried my hand at some vegetable gardening myself but the damn squirrels got a better feast than I did!

  2. Sounds like a wonderful dinner 🙂

  3. 4 extrovertscientist

    I certainly hope so! Let’s see if my guest agrees. ;o)

  4. My grandma grows asparagus in her garden, and every summer there’s about two weeks in which we have asparagus coming out of our ears.

    I am guilty at that point of being a little over-generous with how much I cut off – usually I’m sick of eating it, and happy to feed the extra to the farm animals!

    Thanks for sharing – happy cooking!

  5. I like to run a vegetable peeler a couple of times over the stalks of asparagus and broccoli. That seems to help.

  6. wow, that video was mesmerizing….


Leave a Reply

