That’s *Ms.* Narcissistic Bitch to You…

23Mar09

Dr. Drew Pinsky, originally famous from the show “Loveline”, is out with a new book titled The Mirror Effect.  It discusses the role of celebrity narcissism and its influence on Americans, particularly its youth.  He conducted a test with various celebrities and members of the general population called the Narcissistic Personality Inventory (NPI) that indicates various levels of narcissism including vanity, entitlement, authority, self-sufficiency, superiority, exploitativeness, and exhibitionism. According to Dr. Drew, the general population scores an average of 15.3 points while celebrities score an average of 17.8 points. He states that a high score in the categories of authority, self-sufficiency, and superiority shouldn’t be of as much concern as vanity, entitlement, exploitativeness, and exhibitionism.

So I’m sitting here wondering why I do this to myself.  OK, I admit I like a little attention.  OK… really I like a lot. Can’t lie about that!  But I enjoy giving a lot of attention as well so I never thought it was a problem. I don’t think the whole world should bow at my feet or anything. You’re probably wondering by now what my score was.  Geez… I hate to admit it.  I feel like I should be seeing a psychotherapist or something.  Umm.  I made a 21. *Sigh*. My dinner guest laughed at me and said he could have guessed it by my Facebook page.  Busted.  Alright, I change my profile picture at least weekly and I have a gazillion photo albums (although most of the pics aren’t of myself). I scored highly in the categories of vanity, superiority, authority, and exhibitionism. Well, I have a fucking blog.  I think that officially makes me an exhibitionist. Oi.

So for those of you who don’t already feel guilty enough, you can take the NPI here. If either Dr. Isis or Abel Pharmboy are reading this… this challenge is for you two in particular.  And I want your scores. Pronto! Ha ha.

12 Responses to “That’s *Ms.* Narcissistic Bitch to You…”

    • 2 extrovertscientist

      Ha ha… awesome! You stroke my ego, I stroke yours. ;oP

  1. 3 isisthescientist

    Is a 37 bad?

    • 4 extrovertscientist

      It depends who you ask… I love you anyway. ;o) I don’t mind telling you how wonderful you are, commenting on your witty blog posts, and, by the way, did I mention you have nice shoes??

  2. Mother of pearl, I got a 33.

    I’m apparently not vain about physical appearance, but I am guilty of everything else.

    Andrew and I share many of these faults so I’m skeptical of his low score…

    • 6 extrovertscientist

      I call bullshit on Andrew, too. You, on the other hand, I would have thought you would have gotten a lower score. Good going.

    • hey now, don’t hate the player, hate the game.

      Besides, there were so many questions where option C: “My greatness exceeds the premise of this question” would have applied to me that I could be pulling triple digits here.

      • 8 extrovertscientist

        I see what you’re saying… Well, hey, even if you feign humility, I still love ya!

  3. 9 leigh

    hm. 15. mostly authority and self-sufficiency. 😛

    • 10 extrovertscientist

      You know, for a chick who can fix their own car, you should be a little cockier! ;oP

  4. I’ll get to it – I thought it was a radio button survey that calculated your score. Now I’ve gotta print it out and match up my responses, then add up my score. I’ve misplaced my abacus.

  5. 22 for me


Leave a Reply

