Lucky Indeed!

31Mar09

Well, it seems that good things DO come to those who wait! I got news yesterday that I will be having a personal interview at the end of this week with an Unnamed Pharma Company and another Unnamed Pharma Company for summer internships.  I am particularly excited about the prospects at the first Unnamed Pharma Company.  The intern will be responsible for characterizing Hepatitis A virus isolated from biological samples.  This will include RNA extractions, real time PCR, ELISA assays, and genome sequencing.  This sounds terribly interesting to me! It pays less than the other Unnamed Pharma internship but I think I would enjoy it a whole lot more. The other Unnamed Pharma internship is interviewing me for a position in quality operations. I would be in charge of compliance matters, environmental sampling and testing, etc… Either way, I feel that I am very lucky to have two companies interviewing me. Finally, my hard work is paying off!

To top it off, this week I will be going to the cherry blossom festival in Washington, D.C. This is the weekend the trees will be in full bloom.  They will also have Japanese cultural festivities. I love Japanese culture! I will be in good company, too.  That’s the best part. 🙂

There are some cherry trees next to my apartment.  I took some pictures of the blooms.  They are so beautiful.

brite3-072

2 Responses to “Lucky Indeed!”

  1. How exciting! Good Luck with the internship interviews. My Gamastan S/d Immune globulin shots that I use to treat my hypogammaglobulinemia are made by Talcris.. that’s how I found your blog. Anyway I find the whole process amazing. IG Living magazine just had a story on a tour they took at Talcris, I’d love to see it too one day.

  2. 2 extrovertscientist

    Thanks for stopping by, Joanna. Yeah, I always dreamt of taking a tour of the Talecris facility here because I heard it is amazing. Much to my dismay, I found out they no longer offer the type of tours they used to due to safety/regulatory issues. Maybe now I’ll finally get my tour! I’ll let you know how it goes. 😉


Leave a Reply

