A Taste of Colombia

01Apr09

I dug through some pictures of mine that I took when I visited Colombia in 2006. I found a few of the town where my grandmother lives.  This little town is like stepping back in time.  It was my favorite part of the trip.  I thought I would share them with you.  The first is of my grandmother’s house with all the balconies (the most photographed house in that region due to it’s spectacular architecture) and a brightly decorated, traditional, Colombian bus that we call a “chiva”.

00000103

Next is a picture of the view from my grandmother’s kitchen.  Absolutely breathtaking, I must say! There were no windows on that wall in the house to indicate the view I was about to see.  I opened a little door in the wall just above the sink and this is what I saw:

00000149c

Finally,  is a picture that I feel captures the essence of the people from this little town. Mind you this is rural Colombia and not one of the modern cities like Bogota or Medellin… As beautiful as it is, I would never want anyone to think that all of Colombia is some underdeveloped third world country.  It is truly diverse in its terrain, its people, its architecture, and climate.

00000130c

Some day (preferably not at 2 a.m. as it is now…) I will post pictures of a more modern city such as Medellin, my hometown. These pictures are from a town called Sonson and they just happen to be amongst my favorite memories of the trip, so unlike anything I experience here in the States.

6 Responses to “A Taste of Colombia”

  1. Those pictures are stunning! Thank you for posting.

  2. 2 extrovertscientist

    Thanks a bunch, Emmett! I saw your blog and Flickr photos as well. I really love everything Japanese so I found them very interesting. Thanks for stopping by! I’ll be sure to check in on your blog as well. 🙂

  3. 3 leigh

    what beautiful pictures. thanks for sharing them with us, i look forward to seeing the next set.

  4. 4 Samia

    Wow, what beautiful shots. You’re some photographer!

  5. 5 extrovertscientist

    Thanks Samia! I try…

  6. Que hermosa, hermana!


Leave a Reply

