I Get the Award for Deadbeat, Slacker Blogger

14Oct09

As some of you may know, I’ve taken a hiatus from this whole blogging deal. I think what really did me in was losing an internship simply because I referred to a pharmaceutical company by name. I guess that just left me jaded. I felt that I was being punished for something I may *potentially* do. It was kind of like being in the “Minority Report”. Things just got really busy after that. Thankfully, I had a great internship and an awesome vacation to Colombia right before the semester started.

Being a student and single mother of two is exhausting work to say the least but you learn to cope. I am happy to say that my son is now in the 3rd grade and he has adjusted much better this year in school. We’re lucky that he has a really sweet and nurturing teacher who also has oodles of patience. More recently I enrolled him in tae kwon do. He is really enjoying it. My daughter started elementary school this year as well. It was then that I came to the realization that my kids are kind of grown. Sorry, but unlike most, that doesn’t make me sad at all! I’m not a big fan of babies. Or toddlers. Or anything small and annoying. Ha ha ha.

So now I’m back to full time school, taking calculus. It drives me nuts. I see the light at the end of the tunnel, though. I graduate in May so I’m working hard to be gainfully employed come the beginning of summer. Anyway, just a little update on what’s going on with me and why I fell off the face of the blogosphere. I suppose if I want to go to SciOnline ’10 (doesn’t rhyme this year, darn!), I should actually  do some blogging of some sort. I’ll have to squeeze it in where I can. I hope to find some interesting topics for the upcoming posts. I don’t want to bore you all with my mundane life! Until next time… Adios!

3 Responses to “I Get the Award for Deadbeat, Slacker Blogger”

  1. 1 Inkrose

    It’s so nice to hear (read) from you again, and even nicer that the news is all good. 🙂

    And I’m very happy indeed to hear your son’s doing better in school now, and I’m sure the Tae Kwon Do will (probably has already) help him focus and control his impulses even better.

    All the best to all of you.

  2. Glad to see you’re back!

  3. 3 sorchajayne

    I know the deadbeat blogger part, although I’ve found myself entangled with more non-science projects of late. My kids are more or less the same age as yours, and yes, the bigger they get, the more interesting they are 🙂 I’m not fond of babies.


Leave a Reply

