Anticipating 2010

17Oct09

I’ve been in proactivity overdrive lately. Graduation is soon approaching. Only one more semester and I’ll be on my own in more ways than one. 2010 certainly brings a lot of changes for me. I’ve been nickel and diming college for 10 years now although I’ll have 2 children, 2 Associates degrees and a Bachelors degree to show for it. I will be moving out on my own after 8 years of marriage as well. It’s kind of refreshing to have the opportunity to be fully responsible for myself. Needless to say, a lot is riding on my ability to be employed promptly after graduation.

Luckily, the pharmaceutical industry seems to be thriving despite the economic crisis. Perhaps many of you may believe it’s that way because it’s an exploitative industry but personally I also see a lot of good in it and am fortunate to have chosen it as a profession. Overall, I’m not concerned about being hired after graduation but rather how quickly I am hired.  It is for these reasons that I have decided to put all my efforts into networking and learning the industry lingo. Unbelievably, the world of pharmaceutical professionals is a relatively small one.

I’m making some contacts through an international pharmaceutical professionals’ organization that I am a member of and president for our university’s student chapter. Being president is like having a part-time job but most definitely worth the extra effort. I’d like to say that I’m a generally ambitious person but next year will require me to pursue what I want even more aggressively. I just want to be able to say that I can be independent and successful for myself and for my children. It’s a bit unnerving but rather exciting all at once. We’ll see what lies ahead in 2010.

No Responses Yet to “Anticipating 2010”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

