I Bet This Will Increase My Blog Hits…

12Nov09

People really seem to love looking up food information. Still to this day, my blog post of the YouTube video on how to trim asparagus is one of the most popular amongst my blog entries. I’m thinking about something yummy at the moment so I figured I’d share it. Just so you all know, I’m absolutely fanatical about pumpkin. I think cold weather sucks but I relish the fall and winter months because it’s pumpkin flavored foods galore! Starbucks has a pumpkin spice latte, there’s pumpkin pie coffee creamer, pumpkin eggnog (like drinking a pie!), pumpkin cheesecake…. There are many possibilities. One year I even made pumpkin white chocolate fudge. I got a lot of compliments because it was not only delicious, but unique. Knowing I’m a pumpkin freak, a friend sent me this recipe for tofu pumpkin pie. Tofu is also one of my favorites. =) Being that I have an insane schedule and am exhausted by the time I have long enough to actually prepare a pie, I haven’t made this one yet. It sounds delicious, though!  If one of you out there gets a chance to make it, let me know if you give it the thumbs up:

Ingredients:
1 16-oz. package firm tofu (mine was 14 oz.)
2/3 cup honey
2 egg whites
1 3/4 cups canned or fresh cooked pumpkin
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/2 teaspoon ginger

Instructions:
Blend tofu in blender/food processor until creamy. Add honey, egg
whites, pumpkin and spices. Blend well. Pour into 9″ unbaked pie
shell. Bake approximately 1 hour in pre- heated 400 degree oven.

The crust was just thinly sliced apples overlapped and then sprinkled
with about 1/4 cup of crushed almonds. Next time I may add some
spices/honey to the apples to make them as flavorful as the pumpkin.
Also I had enough filling left over to fill two ramekins with the
filling and baked those as well, so the pie is really closer to 10
servings than 8.

One Response to “I Bet This Will Increase My Blog Hits…”

  1. Oh, this sounds delicious! Thank you for this recipe!


Leave a Reply

